1500m Invitational

The 1500m Invitational event is held in January each year. The event is open to all registered LAWA athletes who have obtained a personal best for the 1500m event in the current season and have registered that personal best with the BLAC Records & Ranking Officer at least one week prior to the event. Athletes are placed into the following age categories: U11-13 Boys, U11-13 Girls, U14-17 Boys and U14-17 Girls with Belmont Athletes and Visitors racing together. Gold, Silver & Bronze medals will be awarded in each of the 4 categories. All visiting athletes may compete in any other events held on the day.

NOTE: This event is no longer a handicapped event.

Athletes from other centres are encouraged to compete with invitations being sent out to Athletics West affiliated Little Athletics Centres prior to Christmas.

2023 Winners U11-U13

Boys Girls
1st Thomas Davey (Kalamunda/Lesmurdie) 1st Scarlett Nunn (Southern Districts)
2nd Mogga Jansuk (Kelmscott) 2nd Charlotte Hayward (Kalamunda/Lesmurdie)
3rd Mack Mills (Kewdale) 3rd Madison Mills (Kewdale)

2023 Winners U14-U17

Boys Girls
1st Patrick Clare (High Wycombe) 1st Kyra Pilmer (Kewdale)
2nd William Tilbee (Kewdale) 2nd Elyssa Lewis (Kewdale)
3rd Jake Mills (Kewdale) 3rd Emily Tjerkstra (Kelmscott)


Past Winners – Combined Athletes from 2019-20 season

Year Boys Girls
2022 (U11-13) Duku Jansuk (Kelmscott) Abeerah Ali (Gosnells)
2022 (U14-17) Tony Thomas (Kewdale) Elyssa Lewis (Kewdale)
2021 (U11-13) Oliver Perkis (Southern Districts) Tahlia Warner (Bunbury)
2021 (U14-17) Riley McFarlane (Forrestfield) Laura Stump (Kalamunda/Lesmurdie)
2020 (U11-13) Jayden Moore (Ridgewood) Emma Lancaster (Forrestfield)
2020 (U14-17) Dylan Bailey (Melville) Nina Yeats (Gosnells)


Past Winners – Belmont Athletes

Year Boys Girls
2019 (U11-13) Gabriel Beasley (Kew) Alexis Markovic (KL)
2019 (U14-17) Mitchell Bostock (HW) Emma Ferguson (FF)
2018 (U11-13) Ethan Vidich (FF) Mikaela Wilksch (FF)
2018 (U14-17) Myles Byng (CR) Emma Nanut (HW)
2017 Gabriel Mohamed (FF) Danielle Rossi (FF)
2016 Nathan Morris (FF) Madelynne Price (KL)
2015 Mitchell Pontague (Kew) Annelise Stirling (KL)
2014 Event not held Event not held
2013 Conor Andrews (KL) Tarsha Hansord (CR)
2012 Nathanael Pickett (HW) Peta Lewis (HW)
2011 Duncan Jones (FF) Gemma More (KL)
2010 Dermot Forsythe (KL) Madelaine Gurton (CR)
2009 Justin Westwood (CR) Peta Lewis (FF)
2008 Peter Murphy (Kew) Kelly Short (Kew)
2007 Zac Partington (HW) Marine Alonso (HW)


Past Winners – Visiting Athletes

Year Boys Girls
2019 (U11-13) Sam Pereira (Kwinana) Niki Carson (Bayswater)
2019 (U14-17) William McAullay (Kingsway) Jessica Carson (Bayswater)
2018 (U11-13) Noah Carter (Collie) Annabelle Stokes (Cockburn)
2018 (U14-17) Patrick Murphy (Gosnells) Abbey Cilia (Southern Districts)
2017 Luke Lummis (Hamersley) Kayla Bongers (Gosnells)
2016 John Chegwidden (Cockburn) Annabelle Stokes (Cockburn)
2015 Semisi Amato (Gosnells) Bree-Anne Gray (Baldivis)
2014 Event not held Event not held
2013 Daniel Sharp (Bayswater) Brandi Burnett (Baldivis)
2012 Alexander Maude (Rockingham) Jade Creusot (Bayswater)
2011 Blake Keen (Beechboro) Kodie Mirco (Eastern Hills)